In The Cult…..

Not Amway

I admit it.  I’m in the Harry Potter cult.  I have read all fo the books three times and seen the movies countless ones(Thank you ABC Family for the marathons, I’m forever yours).  Granted, I am not on the Executive Board of the cult or anything. I didn’t dress up to attend the book releases and don’t dress up when going to the movies, though I do go to the first showings at midnight because I can’t wait until daylight. We have been to Alnwick Castle, the filming location for the first two films and stayed ont he hotel in Scotland where the series was finished (that wasn’t calculated, just coincidental. :))

Big Daddy and the superheroes talk about me bad.  And I deserve it, I do.  We went to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Studios Orlando.  You’d a thought I was a teenage girl at a Justin Bieber concert.  I had to let my family go ahead of me. I was verklempt, speechless.  I had goose bumps. I berated MiniMe for trying to buy Slytherin gear in the gift shop with a, “Uh no, you can’t buy that. Slytherin is bad, Gryffindor is good.”  To which, he responded, and rather loudly I might add, “Momma, you’re a nerd!”

I do love the story.  While they have seen the movies,  they have not read the books.  I tell my children that it’s not about the magic, the witches and wizards.  Those are just backdrops to a story about a boy who learns about friendship, loyalty, finding family where you don’t have one, finding courage and strength within, and believing in yourself.

They aren’t buyin’ it and still look at me like I need a little white jacket with the pretty buckles on the back. I am starting the series again.

The final film is coming out on July 15th.

I’ll be there at midnight.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “In The Cult…..”

  1. Lori Says:

    Are you sure you’re not on the Executive Board of the cult? Love you!!

Leave a Reply

