Drinks That Get You Going in the Morning…..

I am trying to figure out how often and how much to write on this blog. My family provides a great deal of fodder, but sometimes the events/ordeals/situations need to marinate to allow them to become more poigniant or amusing. So in the meantime, feeling like I needed to post, I went to my browser and typed in “blog topics.” A number of topic generators were returned in my search and I visited a few of them and clicked the buttons. And then, “Drinks that get you going in the morning” popped up. Well, well, well….

I’m sure the intent was breakfast drinks, but of course, that is soooooo not where my mind went. And before y’all get ready to do an intervention, It was just where my mind went, that’s it. Not that I haven’t thought about having a mojito with my cereal now and again when the craziness level rises, whether it IS five o’clock somewhere or not, but even I couldn’t pull that one off without some eyebrow raising here at the Edge. The only time that there is an exception to that rule is while we are on vacation, where the only rule is that kids under the age of 18 are not allowed on the pool deck without an adult present. (Hell, sometimes adults shouldn’t be allowed on the pool deck without adult supervision.) Otherwise, if the young super heroes want to have birthday cake for breakfast, great, because Momma Crazy will be having wine with her gluten free pancakes and Big Daddy will be having a beer with his steak and eggs.

We do actually make smoothies in the a.m. sometimes because they’re simple and quick and I get to use my immulsion blender which I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. It’s like a girlie power tool–feel the burn! I feel like I should bedazzle it or something, but that’s for another post. Here’s our basic smoothie recipe:

1 cup plain Greek yogurt (this adds protein)
1 cup of milk
1 cup of fruit (we use fresh fruit such as berries, bananas or frozen(mixed berries, strawberries, mangoes)
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
Honey to taste

Mix in the blender or with your immulsion mixer until well blended. Yumminess in a glass!

This totally dates me, but I also like an “Orange Julius.” My young super heroes not so much, but hey it’s about me on this one. 🙂

6 ounces frozen orange juice concentrate
1/2 cup whole milk
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon vanilla
5 -6 ice cubes

Enjoy! Let me know how your smoothies are and I’ll let you know how my mojito is…….

One Response to “Drinks That Get You Going in the Morning…..”

  1. Betty’s Quick Tip 94–Preparing Fresh Fruit for Smoothies « The Cooking Channel Says:

    […] Drinks That Get You Going in the Morning….. (edgeofcrazy.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

