Do over…..

It’s snowing…still.  There’s definitely a lot, but we’re hanging.  Plenty of food, movies, videos games, computer, and books to keep us entertained as needed.

I live in the woods.  The trees are….well everything is covered in snow.  We shoveled the driveway three times yesterday, but didn’t make a dent.  Ate some snow, threw some snowballs.  It really is beautiful and the quiet is nice, peaceful.  So much so that the kids even noticed it.  Good thinking time. And I’m thinking all this snow might do us a little good. 

Maybe Mother Nature is telling us we need to sit down for a bit, not travel at the break neck speeds that our everyday lives have become, letting us know that we are not as in charge as we think we might be. No basketball games this weekend, no Girl Scout meetings, no piano lessons, no appointments. I took my time in the shower this morning, since I had it.  Some of the superheroes are still sleeping.

I don’t know if it’s because 2010 is the close of the first decade of the new millenium, or if it because it ends in zero, or what, but I know it has been crazy from the beginnng.  So I’m taking my snow days to regroup, reassess, and rethink my approach to my family and friends, to my health,  to my work..  I’m wiping away the slate and have a do over, to really think about what’s important, how I react to things, situations, and people, and how to be a better example for my children.

It’s nice to just be.

2 Responses to “Do over…..”

  1. Regina Says:

    Amen to that! We actually farmed out all the kids and got to snuggle in on our own in a blissfully quiet house this morning. Takes me back to the carefree dating days!
    Now…about ALL of this food we purchased that we assumed we’d need while stuck in house all weekend.

  2. Deborah Says:

    Beck you are so right. I felt that these storms may be God’s way of saying we need to slow down, look at whats right in front of us and stop taking everyday for granted. Spend quality time with family and loved ones and re-group, even rest up as you mentioned.

    Love Ya Sis!

Leave a Reply

