To Cuss or not to cuss…

That is the question.  I swear sometimes, okay a lot. The F bomb is my fave.  It just sums everything up, so succinctly. 

I have been debating about swearing in my blog posts, worried that I might offend the other reader.  And we’re not talking about every single post, but now again, when deemed necessary.  I’ve heard the saying, “Cussing is an indication of the small vocabulary.”  Hmmmm……I’m thinking that was said by someone who just couldn’t come back with a witty retort when getting cussed out himself. Ass.

Growing up, I heard my mother say “shit” and that was only when she forgot something, which didn’t happen very often.  My dad didn’t cuss.  At home.  Craziest thing.  He would not swear at home, but in his office, he would cuss like a sailor. Shitdamnhellfuck was one word.  I think he forgot we were in the conference room when we visited him at work. Damn.

I don’t walk around my house just dropping F bombs or other such homophones (SAT word of the day. Eat that Mr. Small Vocabulary!).  On the occasion that the superheroes are in earshot, I explain to that those are “adult” words and not to be shared amongst friends.

Some folks make up words that they use in place of a swear word, which, really, is lame.  Just say a damn curse word already.  It’s like when cuss words are bleeped out in movies on TV.  We can see their lips moving and know exactly what is being said; so why bother with the bleep?  What’s the point? What the hell???!!!! 

Just go with it. You’ll feel much better.  I bleeping swear.

-Dropping the bomb at the Edge

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “To Cuss or not to cuss…”

  1. The Katalina Blog Challenge #8: Screw Yous and Other Taboos « My Conflicted Self Says:

    [...] To Cuss or not to cuss… (edgeofcrazy.wordpress.com) [...]

  2. chunky cussing blogger seeks wordpress clue keepers | *RESULTS NOT TYPICAL girl Says:

    [...] To Cuss or not to cuss… (edgeofcrazy.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. The F-bomb « An American Point of View Says:

    [...] To Cuss or not to cuss… (edgeofcrazy.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

